All time winners of Noble Price from India


  • The most prestigious award in the world. It was set up in 1900under the will of Alfred Bernhard Nobel.
  • The  Noble prizes are presented annually on 10th December (The death anniversary of the founder).
  • It is given in the fields of Peace, Literature, Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine (from 1901) and Economics (from 1969).
WINNER                                     FIELD (YEAR)
Mother Teresa                                     Peace (1979)
Kailash Satyarthi                                     Peace (2014)
C V Raman Physics (1930)
Subhrahmanyan Chandrasekhar Physics (1983)
Rabindranath Tagore Literature (1913)

Hargobind Khorana Medicine (1968)
Venkatraman Ramakrishnan Chemistry (2009)
Amartya Sen Economics (1998)


No. of Noble price in total :   Peace : 2

Literature : 1

Chemistry : 1

Economics : 1

Physics : 2

Physiology/Medicine : 1


For more stuff, subscribe Newspaper Cuttings.

Source Book: Manohar Pandey

Follow us :

One response to “All time winners of Noble Price from India

  1. Birendra Singh

    Thanks for the information,

    I would like to add further. below are the Nobel Laureates With Indian Links:

    Ronald Ross-Medicine 1902 (Born in Almora)
    Rudyard Kipling-Literature 1907 (Born in Bombay)
    V S Naipaul- Literature 2001 (son of Hindu Indian Family)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *